Kohl's Complaint

Kohl's Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

Kohl's Ex-Employee


I used to work for Store number 533, The Nashua NH location. I'd have to say that this store was the WORST, I mean the worst place I worked. The Managers were so rude to the employees. The head Manager Michael gave little to no hours, he got very defensive when you brought an employee concern to him. The receptionist ALWAYS mis-calculated hours, so your hours were way less then they were suppose to be. The Assistant Manager Melissa constantly was spreading other employees personal business as well as Tamara, and April. They are all very stuck up, and catty people and I have to say NEVER work at this location. Its nothing but a headache!!! I was moving and they wouldn't transfer me at all without reasoning?! I was a great employee. I dealt with the economic and personal issues that every person in America faces dailiy. So Im left jobless no money to help raise my daughter because they wouldn't transfer me. So I plead anyone that thinks Kohls is a great Career choice its not. If you want to cry, be stressed constantly and have your personal business spread through out a store ( Which managers are suppose to keep to themselves) And be downed all the time by Catty Managers be my guest then this is the Career for you.

Thanks for reading!
Sincerely,
The Ex-Employee


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Kohl's
SUBMIT a ticket
for Kohl's
WATCH videos
for Kohl's
More Kohl's Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Kohl's

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


mentor311 says: (1 week ago)
 0
This company is bullshit I work at store 1409 in bedford nh, I have been associate for almost four years I started at 8.25$ Iam.now making 8.79$ - i also was sexually assaulted by a manager who had worked there at the time, I told a female manager an I was told that I was over reacting they still allowexd him to keep his job just had moved me ti a different department so I didn't have to see him, he ended up leaving an they hired him back a year later, my store has went through 5 store managers alone. Breaks are always late or never taken an they promote people who have only been there for two months, I was forced to get a second job.cuz I was coming home with an $80 check a week when I did get the second job they denied my availability I had to argue with hr to approve it, Ihave busted my ass for this ccompany an I have never felt more used an betrayal in my life I will never speak highly of this store they are scum an over priced, clothing is cheap quality an everything shrinks



koyb123 says: (11 months ago)
 0
Kohl's can do whatever they please. Their lawyers are allowed to lie as much as they wish. Kohl's be damned!!!!!



LK63 says: (1 year ago)
 -2
Wow, "Kohl's Ex-Employee"! After reading your complaint I can see why your an ex-employee. How unbelievable that you take time to state petty issues and associate those with supposedly real names of those still working at your store, but don't have the guts to state whom you are. Coward! I don't believe your story for one second and think you get what you bring on in these instances. You sound like a real trip to work with. Ugh! Grow-up!



Icatty11 says: (1 year ago)
 0
I also worked for kohls Canton CT. I was setup by some co workers who didnt like the fact that i went above and beyond in workmanship. I got a raise. Then all of sudden i was brought in, harassed to the point i cried. They said i stole and didn't let me see the so called video surveillance.Was there for over a year. They lost a good, honest,dependable worker.It seemed the security there lies and maybe steals herself. When you call them out in the lies and deception they terminate you.



myfatherseyes says: (2 years ago)
 0
I worked for Kohls for 6 years. Those of you who claim you are having great experiences working there it is likely because you are one of the chosen few for the store's 'in' crowd. For everybody else people are used and abused.

The company claims to be concerned about harassment and yet there is constant harassment going on. Management does absolutely nothing about it and corporate does not give a damn about people.

I can totally believe every story I read here because of what I have observed in my 6 years. The people working at my store do not like anyone who has more education or class than they do. A lot of these people including managers party, drink, do drugs and if you are not part of that crowd then you are an outsider.

When someone does not like you then they create a group against you who does not like you and then they will make your life so miserable until you either leave on your own or they can find something to accuse you of.

After being publicly mistreated on the property at Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) so called "Christian" ladies bad mouthed, gossiped and performed their evil shenanigans until management wiggled me out. Never mind the fact that the criminals at TBN may wind up in prison one day for what they are involved in or that I had a legal right to sue TBN especially when all the slander and lies about me carried over into my job and is a direct result of eventually putting me out.

One of these ladies who worked her craft against me has been responsible for several other good employees leaving the store voluntarily because they could not tolerate her harassment. But what does Kohls management do? They reward troublemakers, gossipers, liars, and cheaters.

It is very true that you only get lots of hours the first year that you work there. Now I know people who continue to get nearly 40 hours per week as part-time employees but those people are highly favored by management and these people have made demands for what they want. Not just anybody can walk in to management and make demands. It depends on who you are. Just because somebody gets lots of hours does not mean they are a good employee. Some are and some are not. Management will have you to believe it is the good employees who get the hours but it's a lie. Years of experience with the company and you will find this out.

Our store was remodeled this year. Instead of giving me the 40 hours a week during the remodel they gave the hours to some new people who left after the remodel.

As far as the "Employee of the Month" goes. That is all a setup. Has nothing to do with who deserves it. Certain people get together and decide who they wish to give it to. Did you really think that your vote counted?

Kohls is the lowest paying clothing store in this whole city. Yet, Kohls has the highest sales of them all. Excuse me but management and the people above them are taking all the money and then they claim that they cannot afford to pay us anymore or give us hours.

This store I worked at was so bad for gossip. I call these ladies a bunch of "gossiping ninnies" because that's what they were. These people need to get a life. When these ladies know everything about everyone... every family member's name and every little thing people do outside of work then something is wrong. Peeps, this is called NOSEY. People who have nothing better to do with their lives than spend their time at Kohls being busybodies in everybody's lives. You know the gossip is bad when the young men are saying "I cannot talk about my personal life at work anymore. I was going to ask a girl out but it was all over the store before I even asked her."

One of the ladies who was harassing me pretended to my friend before she decided to go on a mission to have me put out of my job. The lady became so evil. When she looked at me it was like black firey darts. I think that the woman was demon possessed with the way she behaved. She was weird. We had to work side by side but she refused to work with me. She refused to speak to me at all. She treated me like I no longer existed in the room and she was turning people against me with lies. What did management do? Nothing. According to Kohls own harassment policy what this woman was doing was creating a hostile environment. This woman should have been fired just like the other lady who was creating trouble and caused other employees to leave but Kohls called these two ladies good employees. Kohls rewards people who are evil and harass others.

My leaving Kohls was a mutual departure. I carried a Kohls charge card and shopped at only Kohls for more than 20 years. This past January I closed my charge card because Kohls refused to correct the mistakes on my billing which involved removing some of my associate discount. Now after this dirty act of theirs I am thrilled to part ways with this company. Kohls will eventually reap what they have sewn. My bible says to count it all joy when people persecute you and so it is. I count it all joy. Good riddance to Kohls. They just lost one of their very best customers. I will never step foot into another Kohls store ever again!



chained says: (3 years ago)
 0
Its refreshing to hear that someone is honest about their experiances at kohls. Its true and more. Be of another race. ever wonder why you dont see orientals, few mexicans and only token negros in management positions. if the phrase BE ALL YOU CAN BE is true then believe Kohls is there. everyones experiance is different. I dont think as many of the responders who respondes are black or this page would be lit up.



jdodgshon says: (3 years ago)
 0
I did not receive my W-2 from Kohls, so I had to fill out a form to get one and they are trying to charge me $10.00 to mail it or $25.00 to UPS it. With Macy's you just go to a website & print one out. It is just another way of Kohl's showing that they hate their employees!



jvelez913 says: (3 years ago)
 +1
My co-worker was there since this Kohl's opened 0782 and they are trying to get rid of her so they give the newer employees more hours...she is 67 and needs this job...anybody who defends this company should know they will kick your ass out in a heartbeat..do you really think they care about you? Seriously get a clue!



jvelez913 says: (3 years ago)
 +1
My husband worked security @ a Kohl's store and he was at the top of his game..best in the district. He was let go becuase he caught a shoplifter and the 2 women accompaning her weren't shoplifting. He called his manager but he was busy at a club and instructed him to call the police (which he did) when the police pulled the non-shoplifters off the line and becuase they were not the actual shoplifters my husbsand got fired. I am satisfied though becuase every time I go out people try to sell me stuff they stole from Kohl's. So, there you go, that wouldn't be if my husband worked there but I'm glad they are getting stole fronm every day and look like fools...they could have saved thousands..but now good for them...the more thiefs I see in the street seeling their stuff the happier I am. That didn't happen when my husband worked there..Dumb Ass Administration!



aphonic says: (4 years ago)
 -1
I have the complete opposite feeling of everyone who put up bad complaints about Kohl's. I am a current employee of Kohl's and after just 4 months of working at my current store (699) in Liberty/Kansas City, MO. my store manager is helping me get a store transfer to the Lawrence, KS. store. I get along great with all my managers. Stephanie, Debbie, Nicole, Gary, Stephanie (a different one), and Brandy are extremely personable people who hear out all issues that you have, give their advice to you and always keep it confidential. Our HR, Bev, is extremely accurate with our wages and contacts you, before you can even contact her if there are any problems. She actually contacted me the day I started working there when she noticed I hadn't had direct deposit set up just to help me get it set up. I've never had issues with getting paid under what I'm supposed to and besides this past month (January) I've always got good hours. If you are having problems with your store manager you can always take it up to corporate. If you aren't doing this than either you need to gain some courage or your thoughts obviously are not well founded and you aren't as good of an employee as you think you are. I'm a United States Veteran who was unemployed for over 6 months after getting in so this job is a God send. I'm ecstatic that I have this job and have absolutely nothing to complain. Sure being in Customer Service is rough because of some of the customers but I love working there because my co-workers make it worth my while! Hopefully I'll see some of you as customers some time to show you just how amazing the Kohl's experience can really be!



yournightmareon1375 says: (4 years ago)
 +1
I work at kohls in SANTA ANA california and I can relate to your coments its just ugly we had xmas partys and the managers get drunk and act stupid ask the workers thay have pic. I was there and saw everything I really dont know how kohls allows this! And that's not all they tell us to come at 6am working but they come 15-1hr late oh but wait when we come late you get write-ups thats not fair. They can say its not true but it is! Theres another problem the hour SUCK the more time your are with the company you get 0-10hr. the admin has her mom MARIA MORALES ,cousin VIOLETA IBARRA, friend BERTHA PALMAS they get the hours they can sit there and say they don't but YOU are lying plus they don't speak english at all they don't know how to give customer service to the customers there have times they are working and a customer comes up to them and they dont understand so they call someone who speaks english and the customers get mad say "why do they work here if they can't help" there good at doing go-back and that it. Too much going on in this store, We have "YES WE DID" but the worker who give there 100% don't get reconized these 3 workers I have mention has got the associate of the month how can that be. The manager thinks he can run the store- has been very rude with associates he says real bad language we see and hear so may thing that goes around this store that I can go on and on The behavior of the 04 oh my he think he is all that very flirty with the Pos girls. This needs to STOP. Remember where in U.S.A and we have laws STOP abusing. CECILIA that goes for you too you have been very means with your worker you are such a hir and you know it you should be the one to get fired actually ALL managers and have people who really care about the workers without yelling or making us cry if you dont believe go to the store and investagate Remember how you JULIE SOLORIO had SOFIA FIRED remember how you said "tell how she treats us" And how you guy still make copys of her pic and taped them on the cars of the managers. You just couldn't stand her. Just remember the ball will not roll on your side all the time. CHANGE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Open your eyes SEAN so many thing are going sooooooo WRONG!!!!!!!!!



minna67 says: (4 years ago)
 +2
you are very right or maybe short i work in one of the queens store and i don't see the day i can leave i never been so mistreated in my working life twenty plus years.



minna67 says: (4 years ago)
 0
you are very right or maybe short i work in one of the queens store and i don't see the day i can leave i never been so mistreated in my working life twenty plus years.



minna67 says: (4 years ago)
 0
you are very right or maybe short i work in one of the queens store and i don't see the day i can leave i never been so mistreated in my working life twenty plus years.



minna67 says: (4 years ago)
 0
you are very right or maybe short i work in one of the queens store and i don't see the day i can leave i never been so mistreated in my working life twenty plus years.



minna67 says: (4 years ago)
 0
you are very right or maybe short i work in one of the queens store and i don't see the day i can leave i never been so mistreated in my working life twenty plus years.



minna67 says: (4 years ago)
 0
you are very right or maybe short i work in one of the queens store and i don't see the day i can leave i never been so mistreated in my working life twenty plus years.



theabee says: (5 years ago)
 0
hey, i am a kohl's employee. i'm seventeen years old and planning on moving from virginia to study in florida. i hear kohl's can transfer their employees which would be great because there is a Kohl's right next to where i'll be moving to. it would be nice to have a set job instead of looking while i go down there. if anyone has any information they can give me on the matter please email me:

theabarone@yahoo.com

thank you,



age79 says: (5 years ago)
 -1
I am reading all your comments on kohls and I have the total opposite feelings. I worked at kohls for over 3years in a Southern California store. There is complients on hours. The economy is going bad and I understand why our store is cutting hours but those who are preforming and complete their job well are getting the hours. Another person said that they promise of moving up in the company, I never got that promise but I have moved up in the company to a supervising position. The main story talks about how they would not let her transfer. Well I know their have been employees who have wanted to transfer to another store and the manager decline to allow that because it is their recommendation so if the employee turns out to be worker who is not up to part it refects on the management. Otherwise our store lets you transfer and helps in the process. Our store manager does not let any gossip what so ever happen in the store. She feels it is inappropraite for the work place. People complained on the hours that the store is open. I understand why those hours are set around the Christmas season because their are people shopping our store until the very last minute. Our store I must admite is a wonderful place to work. They make sure everyone gets their break and if you work hard get the hours you deserve. They work around your schedule and I think is the best retail job to have.



Cassius says: (5 years ago)
 0
For anyone actually reading this for advice, keep in mind people generally only come to post on things like this when they're pissed. I got here from an unrelated search. I work at a Kohl's in northern California, and I find it to be pretty enjoyable. The policies are reasonable, scheduling isn't too hard to deal with, the upper management is awesome. There's only one manager I don't get along with, and we still do fine professionally. I'm a cashier, sometimes I work in customer service, shoes and occasionally I help with odd labor jobs. It's not my ideal place to work, but it's better than most. If you're getting hired there as an associate, or even first-level management, odds are you need a job more than you need to be picky.

In regards to the store being open too late and all that... well, it's a store. They want to sell stuff. Your job is to support that. The store's job is not to make your life easier. That's what having a job means. If you need to leave town you can always try trading shifts with someone. Otherwise, deal with it- the rest of the world does. It's a pretty good employment experience if you don't go in with a heavy sense of entitlement. And keep in mind every store is different.



phoenix0826 says: (5 years ago)
 0
It is such a coinidence that it happened to you as well. I live all the way in Illinois and it happened to me as well. They gave me little to no hours as well and they knew I was a single-mother and STILL did not provide me with sufficient hours. I pleaded with them to give me more hours so I could give my son a good first birthday party, I even offered to walk to and from work if the bus was not running, still no hours. I would go months on end not working. As soon as they found another African American girl, they fired me, for what they call insufficient hours and she was the only African American worker in the store. The managers were horrible. They fired me and took forever to give me a letter of termination. I would speak employment at Kohl's to my worst enemy1



asdfg says: (5 years ago)
 0
My wife has worked for this company for over two years now. They will make promises of advancement and never follow through. They do work you 6-7 hours straight before giving you any kind of break. She has been averaging 25-35 hours per week for the past 8 months, and just recently turned in a doctors note regarding her ADHD when she picked up her schedule that same day, she had 36 hours for the next week, we come back from a weekend out of town in which she was scheduled off, only to find her hours had been cut to 5 while ALL the recently hired, less than 2 month people all had 4-5 times as many hours as her. We will deffinately be seeking out dicrimination potential if this is not fixed.



dalene1962 says: (5 years ago)
 0
I have worked for Kohls for 7 years and have been very pleased with most of this companies policies, however this year the company is going to stay open until 12 midnight on the wed before thanksgiving. This is OBSERD!! Kohls claims to be a "Family oriented" company, so if that's the case, most FAMILIES are traveling and preparing dinner on the wed before thanksgiving!
If kohls wants to cut back exspenses, then cut the "closing hours of the store and pay your employees the money that they are worth!! Kohls is going to have a hard time finding "loyal" workers if they keep up these crazy hours! I know that my store alone does not do business after 9 at night!



peppie says: (5 years ago)
 -2
I have worked for Kohl's for over two years. I have seen some of the things that were mentioned. But, you know what - you deal with it.
You are going to get these kind of people at any job you work. Yes Kohl's is not a place for someone looking for a career but it is a great place for a part time job. They are willing to work with your schedule and give time off when needed. When you add up all the discounts and other perks given they are great.
If you don't want your personnel business passed around, don't tell anybody anything. After two plus years with Kohl's they know nothing more about my private life now than they did when I started.
I get along with everyone quite well. Yes there are people I don't care for but a Good Morning never hurt anyone.
Your job is what you make it.



Jesswpb says: (5 years ago)
 0
If anyone is intrested I am trying to get a group of past kohls employees together to share stories for a lawsuit




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Kohl's reviews


Similar reviews


More

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team